Some educators believe that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that younger children ought to learn to play music along with academic education. In my opinion, I agree it is beneficial that they are trained in melody. Firstly, school-aged children need to be taught musical instruments because, it improves their coordination. In other words, when they are playing instruments they concentrate on reading the piece on the notes and convert it to a physical motion of playing. This helps in their hand-eye coordination. Also, it improves their comprehension as they are required to be able to comprehend what is in the book and associate it with the pitch on the string. For example, when a kid is playing a keyboard he needs to understand what the tune is, and thereafter press the right keys at the right time so as to be able to achieve the correct sound. Thus, it boosts the brain to work quickly and efficiently. Secondly, when school children play songs in school, it enhances their memory skills. This is because when learning music they create new memories, store them and retrieve them in subsequent classes. They need to recall the pitch each key or string gives. This builds their retention capacity. Moreover, it improves their math skills. This is because critical analysis and problem-solving skills are needed while training. They need to count, listen to scales, and follow rhythm all of which are numbers. For instance, an elementary academy toddler playing the drum needs to calculate the right timing to hit the drum to produce the required sounds. As a result, it helps to improve their decision-making skills. Admittedly, it is true that learning sounds require a lot of time before one can understand them, which can hinder students from focusing on the subjects that matter in school. However, the benefits pupils will receive from the skills are crucial to perform excellently in academics. In conclusion, adolescents learning musical instruments in formal education can enhance their coordination and their memory capacity.