Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the past, work was a small part of an individual's life which they filled with other pursuits unrelated to their livelihoods. These activities occupied their free time and kept individuals motivated and allowed for growth. In the fast-paced modern world, adults rarely spend time on their hobbies anymore. Surely this comes as no surprise as workplaces set longer hours for their employees but do not increase wages to compete with inflation, forcing employees to have to work more than they used to just to keep the same lifestyle. Whereas previously people could work a standard 9-5 job and sustain their hobbies, now working late is more common and some people even work weekends just to be able to stay within their means. Undoubtedly, this leads to less time and energy to pursue activities when the individual is not working. Furthermore, modern technology is keeping people glued to their phones instead of out exploring their interests. Of course, time spent on social media is time that could be devoted to these pursuits, but the fear of missing something important keeps people focused on their phones instead of the real world. As a result of this, people become burnt out from working long hours and lots of screen time. Consequently, individuals may become stagnant and stop developing their personality and growth. Owing to this, many industries which depend on people pursuing their hobbies may suffer financially. For example, individuals who used to enjoy rock climbing but now are forced to cancel their memberships due to long work hours and exhaustion, could ultimately lead to gyms having fewer hours of availability, making it even harder for the individual to pursue this sport. Moreover, when businesses like this close, there are fewer options for people in their communities and society tends towards a work -hard mentality consequently validating the paradigm. In conclusion, the pursuit of hobbies is crucial to the development of the individual but modern barriers to access leads to fewer opportunities to pursue them.