Recent advances in medical science have resulted in increased life expectancy over the past few years. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the last decade, the advancement in medicine and technology boosts the age of human beings. It is undoubtedly true that there are both positives and negatives to the trend. In my opinion, it is agreed with the idea that it brings more benefits than drawbacks. On the one hand, it is true that society is benefited from the development that medical science brings. For example, a baby borne with severe conditions such as organ failure or immune disease can be handled better due to better-equipped facilities and more experienced medical teams. This can be attributed to the knowledge from research and development, as well as experience built from the past. Moreover, the elderly with health problems can be catered to with an all-around solution. This can be seen with patients with such as diabetes and stroke can be treated with a total approach of medicines, exercises, nutrition and so on. When a patient is taken care of by a team of medical professionals from doctors, nurses, physiotherapists, and dietitians, a longer life expectancy is made possible. Overall, people in society can enjoy spending more time with family and their loved ones. On the other hand, we have to admit that when more people live a longer life, there are more burdens to society. For instance, there would be more burdens on the medical system. In developed cities like Hong Kong and Singapore, where people enjoy higher life expectancy, the demand for medical workers is higher. Also, the government is needed to allocate more resources to welfare, such as housing to accommodate a larger population and public facilities such as parks that suit the senior group. Given the ageing population, there is a lesser proportion of the workforce to carry out blue-collar jobs such as construction workers, and waiters. This may result in structural unemployment and the government needs to bring in cheaper workers from other cities. All in all, there are both pros and cons to the development of medicine. Provided that the longer a person lives, the more time he or she can spend with families and friends. It is believed that the benefits would outweigh the drawbacks.