Shops should give preference to selling local foods rather than imported foods. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that markets and vendors ought to priotise selling of local food over foriegn consumables. While this is often most appropriate, sales of imported food has its own advantages too. Dealing in locally sourced food boost the genenal wellbeing of any given community. Firstly, more strident strigent regulations are put in place to monitory the production of consumables to ensure that the food available to buyers are not only fortified with the necessary vitamins and minerals but are also made under the most hygenic conditions thus improving on the satisfaction derived from eating them. Secondly, food made in the immediate locality are suited to the nutritional needs of the indigenes that locality. Residents are assured of fresh produce when such are procured from nearby sources rather than imports. In general, giving preference to local food stuffs will have a ripple effect on the economy of the nation. For example, farmers who supply grains and dairy products receive payments that are returned back to their businesses and eventually the economy of that locality. On the other hand, the sale of imported food though hinders the development of local food market has given purchasers varieties of food options thus making the satisfaction of the human pallet desirable. Moreover, preference for stocking up on foerign foods in shops is more often than not influenced by the local demands of a community. It is also worthy of note that priotising foriegn food items in shops will invariably increase the national foreign exchange benefits. In conclusion, the sale of local food in shops should be of utmost priority to procurement officers as against the importance given to foreign foods.