Some people buy for their children whatever they ask for, allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise their children? What consequences could this type of parenting have for children as they grow older?

Some parents provide anything their children ask. From my point of view, it can have adverse effects on children's personalities. It's always a relief to have someone who always supports you emotionally and financially as a child but the consequences would be inevitable. Firstly,The expectations of such children will increase in the long term as parents have responded to all their needs, they may request something impossible or unaffordable from their parents. If their expectations can not be fulfilled, they may feel depressed and angry. Secondly, the feeling of dependency will raise in such children. As a result,they can not overcome obstacles in their own life and they suppose there should be always someone to help them with their problem. Such children do not learn basic living skills in their life. For instance, a child whose parents have purchased extravagant toys and gadgets, will not learn budgeting skills and hardworking. Probably they become impulsive shoppers who buy what they do not need as well as make unwise financial decisions at work. Therefore, as they bring up and face the potential challenges in their life they will give up continuing their way. In conclusion, it is understandable that parents want to give children what they want but they should set boundaries and rules and be careful how to reward children.