Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Recently, the debate on whether universities should provide skills which are useful in the workplace has been heated. While some people argue that providing knowledge which is needed in the workplace is beneficial for teenagers, other claim that giving access to knowledge is the main purpose of universities. As far as I am concerned, learning useful skills may be the main function of a university. To begin with, teaching skills needed in the workplace is necessary. As the main purpose for teenagers to attend colleges is to obtain a higher job position, exposing students to as much workplace knowledge as they can may allow them to flourish in particular areas. For instance, it may be easier for others to accept graduates’ ideas if effective ways of communication are taught in universities. Therefore, teenagers may be encouraged to contribute more which not only benefit their future careers but also enhance the social development. On the other hand, fundamental principles should be learnt in colleges. Since teenagers who attended higher institutions may want to apply jobs which need further knowledge, they may expect to learn theoretical concepts about their courses. For example, it is more important for biology medical students to learn functions of brain than how to communicate with patients. Therefore, useful skills in workplace may not be as crucial as other theories in colleges. In conclusion, although it is crucial for universities to provide access of knowledge to graduates, it is undeniable that people who attend universities will get into workplace eventually. Therefore, by providing young adults with knowledge needed in jobs, more contributions can be achieve in the future. Skills = ability =capacity