Most employers nowadays put increasing emphasis on social skills. Some people believe that social skills are important in addition to good qualifications for job success. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

In bygone days, social skills were not an important basis on which the selection of a candidate depends. However, as times are changing so many modifications can be seen in various fields. Nowadays, It is believed by some people that social skills are also mandatory along with the academic results for hiring an employee. If I consider it logically then I think these are equally important with other skills though there are some jobs in which these traits are not required. Experts who are in favour of this view put across various points to support this. Firstly, It includes all the traits which are required to be a part of an organisation. In other words, It also includes communication skills which are the base to form interpersonal relations with customers, fellow employees as well as employers. For instance, it has been observed in myriad organizations that a worker who is good at communicating with others plays a leading role, such as a manager and understands the concerns of every person and helps to put forward their view to their senior. Besides this, there are other supportive factors of this belief due to which employers emphasise these skills. According to some employers, It helps the company to be free from all the conflicts if they hire the right person as a person who possesses this quality is able to handle all problematic matters with his persuasive behaviour. In addition to it, It is also observed that these traits are very difficult to teach staff, however, imparting theoretical knowledge training can be conducted easily. Therefore, according to my point of view, I think that although these skills play a very vital role in the lives of individuals as well as companies yet there are some jobs which do not require them at all. For example, In the case of an accountant, it is not necessary to have this particular trait rather theoretical and practical knowledge about the subject is mandatory. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that employer should fill the vacant posts in accordance with the requirements of that position as there can be some work in which these skills are not needed at all.