An increasing number of children are overweight which could result in many problems when they grow older both in terms of their health and health care costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve the problem?

Childhood obesity is sharply on the rise and has may lead to health issues in adulthood. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why many children are overweight and measure that can curb this harmful trend. One of the main reasons young ones gain an unhealthy amount of weight is the increased access to junk food. Fast-food restaurants are widespread and are relatively cheaper and more convenient than healthier alternatives. Mcdonalds, the most popular fast-food chain in the world, for example, offers meals that are inexpensive and take about 10-15 minutes at most to be ready. Therefore, busy parents might opt for that instead of preparing a home-cooked meal. Another cause of increased weight in young people is their sedentary lifestyle. Compared to the previous generation, this generation prefers to stay indoors and play games instead of participating in outdoor activities. All of these result in an obese child. In order to tackle this problem, parents and the government have a huge role to play. Children often mirror the lifestyle of their parents, hence, they need to lead by example. Parents, no matter how busy they may be, need to prepare healthy, home-cooked meals and also provide healthier snack options. For instance, meal-prep can be made on the weekends so as to prevent the last -minute buying of junk foods. In addition, the government can limit the number of restaurants in an area and also create policies to increase the tax paid by these junk food industries. These aforementioned solutions should be able to reduce the rate of obesity in the younger population. In conclusion, This essay discussed the major causes of obesity in the young, and the steps that are needed to solve them.