Some languages spoken by very few people are losing their importance and may become extinct completely. Is it a good or bad development? What are the reasons for this?

Ostensibly, a number of languages are at the verge of extinction because the number of people who speak the languages have gradually decreased. Since it is a threat to the importance of such languages, this is not a welcoming trend. This essay will delve deeper into the reasons behind such a phenomenon in the impending paragraphs. To begin with, the main reason behind this unsuitable development for these languages is the impact of the professional world and the related languages. To cite an example, a survey conducted by The Guardian newspaper in March 2015 revealed that 8% of some rarest languages have not been getting an adequate importance in society because its speakers were inclined towards internationally acceptable languages. In addition, as a number of people consider a person who can speak a globally accepted language easily more intelligent than a person who speaks a less popular language. Hence, this tendency is jeopardising the existence of such languages. Furthermore, the lack of teachers available in society to teach these languages is another big reason. For instance, grammar and pronunciation issues can hinder people from speaking such languages. Moreover, the role of governments is inevitable to save the existence and importance of less spoken languages by adding up them in the syllabus or in the constitution such as in Indian constitution part X has mentioned the list of 22 languages which is not only good for its presence but also a saviour of the relatable cultural texts. To conclude, it is unequivocal that due to the influence of international languages and absence of trainers, the number of people and the importance of some languages are decreasing constantly which is obviously a bad development and may be a danger for the existence of these languages.