Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think they are a positive or negative development?

Workaholism has always been a human thing, so it is no surprise to see individuals overworking these days. Therefore, some countries have chosen to implement some laws in an effort to curb this trend. Several factors can determine this decision, and I believe that it is largely favourable. Clearly, a few reasons are available behind introducing laws regarding overworking. Firstly, countries have intense concern for harmony in families. These days, in order to make ends meet and enjoy high standards of life, employees often have nine-to-five jobs. They come off this shift exhausted affecting the quality of shared time with family members, and in worst scenarios, those crowds sometimes reject to sit at family mealtimes. This limited bonding with immediate relatives might deleteriously deplete the relationships, decreasing the affection towards each other and making them more self-centred. Another reason is linked to eliminating juveniles’ problems. Nowadays, people, even ‘blind’ ones, can notice serious behavioural issues with children, such as delinquency, truancy, or drug and alcohol addiction. For this very phenomenon, workaholic parents who are too heedless of their kids are often to blame. Therefore, measures are being taken to reduce working hours in some parts of the world. I am quite supportive of these laws as they can provide many benefits. From an individual perspective, this restriction can promote work-life balance, helping the workers have the best of both worlds. In other words, with reduced working hours, people can make time for their family and friends, while pursuing their careers simultaneously every day. Regarding the advantages for the companies, recruiters who work less can have more chances to relax and entertain, which might energise them to perform at an optimal level. This can ultimately lead to increased productivity, and thus revenue. In conclusion, several regulations have been imposed to make society work less in many countries because governments want enjoyable life for the families, particularly for the children. I feel that this is absolutely positive both for the individuals and the companies.