SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT UNPAID COMMUNITY SERVICE SHOULD BE COMPULSORY PART OF HIGH SCHOOL PROGRAMS. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE

Many believe that schools should add social work as a compulsory part of student’s syllabus. Personally, although I believe that volunteer work is necessary for the overall growth of a student yet it should not be a compulsion for them. Beginning with the view why unpaid social work is desirable for school students, I would like to put forward my own opinion on this issue. Firstly, it inculcates moral values among pupils. If a child gets a chance to do some social work, he would feel a sense of responsibility towards society. For example, in Indian schools, many students take part in NSS Camps where they get an opportunity to involve in societal work such as plantation of trees or cleanliness of an area which leads them to be a responsible adult in their future. Secondly, they can gain some practical experience of life while working under some NGO’s and this experience can be utilized in their upcoming life. Therefore, students should be encouraged to perform some social works. Despite the aforementioned viewpoints, there are myriad reasons to argue that students should not be compelled to take part in social work. Indeed, students are already overburdened with their studies. If they have to spare some time for unpaid social work, definitely they would have no time for their recreation. This would lead to the problem of stress and depression which further can be detrimental for their academic performance. Furthermore, many financially weak pupils cannot take up these unpaid work as they can support their families as well as themselves financially in that duration. Consequently, this compulsion should not be imposed on students. In conclusion, unpaid community work can be helpful for a pupil to learn many crucial aspects of life, I, nevertheless, assert that it should not be mandatory for them.