Genetic engineering will have a positive influence on society in the future.

Nowadays, the importance of technology in the field of genetics has been rapidly increasing. Although some people claim that we should not rely on genetic engineering because it might cause health problems or environmental deterioration, I firmly believe that genetic engineering will positively change our lives for the following three reasons. Firstly, genetic engineering reduces the number of infected people by some viruses and is helpful for our health. For example, in the 1980s, some universities in France developed gene-edited mosquitos that cannot transfer viruses that cause dengue fever to people. As a result, the number of infected people per year continuously decreases. So, utilizing this scientific know-how will become essential in the future. Secondly, gene-modified foods help solve the lack of food. Genetically modified foods such as crops and livestock are durable against pests and diseases and can grow earlier than usual. So, we can easily and quickly generate foods for people worldwide and solve the food shortage. Finally, this technology helps save biodiversity, an essential element of a good environment. Using this technology, endangered species such as polar bears can increase fertility and thrive more, and they maintain their number. And we can sustain the biodiversity in the world. For the reasons I mentioned above, there is no doubt that it is essential to use genetic technology for a bright future. I firmly believe that the world will become more aware of the importance of genetic engineering and lead to a better lot.