Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university.

Recently, the debate on whether universities should provide certain theories or practical skills has been heated. While some people claim that useful tips in the workplace should be taught, others argue that only access to knowledge is required. As far as I am concerned, the main function of a university should depend on different courses. To begin with, special knowledge seems more important than capacity in the workplace for sciences courses. By teaching theories, students can expose themselves to various aspects of background principles in certain areas. This can ensure further innovation and invention. For example, physics students may be able to explore other planets after learning about the galaxy. Therefore, providing the knowledge regardless of whether it is useful to employers may encourage graduates to bring contributions to the community. On the other hand, teenagers can be benefited if universities provide talents which are needed in the workplace. For instance, people who study management or economics will join the workforce eventually. As people expect to gain useful information about the industry before they enter a company, they may have the ability to cope with problems that occur in companies once universities teach useful knowledge. Therefore, youngsters may better equip themselves and raise their competitive edges if colleges give them the chance to learn practical talents. In conclusion, sciences care more about special concepts while others consider ability in the company is more important. It is undeniable that different subjects focus on different areas and we can hardly judge whether theories or practical information is more beneficial for graduates.