City dwellers seldom socialize with their neighbors today and the sense of community has been lost. Why has this happened and how to solve this problem?

In recent years, people living in the city rarely socialize with their neighbours. It can be said that there is no more sense of community. This essay will discuss several reasons that cause this phenomenon and also suggest a solution for this problem. The most obvious reason for this lack of direct social interaction is the changes in lifestyle. People work long hours and spend a lot of time commuting to and from work. The hustle and bustle of the city leave no space for most people to spend time with other people. For instance, most of them prefer to use social media to have a conversation instead of having it in real life because it saves time and energy. Another reason is, with the advancement of technology, people can now get anything from anywhere really fast and convenient. Thus, it is not necessary to talk to the neighbours and ask for help. For example, when something broke down at home, you can use an app on your smartphone to get a professional to come and fix it instead of calling the person next door. As this is a problem regarding public issues, the solution should come from the local authorities. The government can create more public facilities, like swimming pools, parks, and libraries. Not just building public places, communal activities should also be held in those places. For example, a charity event for dogs held at a public park will bring together a lot of dog lovers and they can interact with each other. In conclusion, the declining sense of community is caused by the combination of lifestyle changes and the development of technology. However, there are still ways to stop this problem from getting worse. Even though city dwellers are more individualistic recently, they are inherently social creatures, and they will always have the instinct to look for interaction with other humans.