It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays there is a prediction that the number of elderly people is likely to surpass the number of youngsters in the nearest future. Even if there are some benefits, in my opinion, a growing disparity between the oldest and the youngest will lead to harmful consequences. To start with, the old community is not able to rise the country to a new level of standard of living due to the outdated attitudes of consciousness and out-of-date ways of developing the country. Although the old group seem to be more experienced, they do not have such innovative and new ideas as young nation. Consequently, the economy will evolve slowly and the political course in the state will remain the same, which can lead to delay of state development. Moreover, the significant adverse impact of the aging population is that it will negatively impact the economy in the future. This is because the size of the labor force tends to decrease, thereby limiting its economic capacity to cover the needs of those who have already retired. Thus, the pressure on the labor workforce going to increase as the increasing health care costs and pensions could be a huge burden on the budget. The most striking example can be Japan, having the fastest aging population in the world which led to the stagnation of the economy in the last three decades. As a result, the growing number of older population around the world can lead to profound social and economic consequences for a society, which makes it obviously a negative development.