In many cities, problems related to overpopulation are becoming more common. Some governments are now encouraging businesses and individuals to move out of cities to rural areas. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is evident that an overcrowded metropolis causes a plethora of issues. Hence government tends to shift companies and people towards suburban areas. Although one can say that there are some drawbacks of this I believe more merits are there. This essay comprises both pros and cons; followed by a logical conclusion. To begin with, the traffic problem exists due to commuters and travelers in major cities. This can be explained by the fact that if the number of worker's vehicles is reduced on the city streets a large percentage of traffic jams will decrease during rush hours. For example, gridlocked motorways can be seen in Colombo due to the fact that dense population. Relocating factories to the countryside causes to reduce in the population in towns. As a consequence of this, there will not be able to see huge traffic. Secondly, relocating factories and workers to the regional places will also mitigate the housing issue. Due to the migration of rural villagers from villages to urban regions in search of job opportunities will arise housing shortage. This is because limited land in cities will not sufficient for all those staff to stay. To elucidate, underdeveloped cities such as Colombo do not have enough facilities like clean water, efficient plumbing, and trash collection which are needed by employees who are living in these areas. Providing jobs in outside areas may result in people moving away from the metropolis and as a result, this housing problem can be solved. However, the strategy of business relocation seems to be infeasible considering negative outcomes that may arise. It may impact the sales of companies whose customers and suppliers mostly come from urban areas. This may reduce the business transactions, which can weaken their profitability. Hence, lessening of profit of businesses will be one of the major drawbacks of changing the business location to outside of a metropolis. To conclude, it is a no-brainer to say that metropolis are having umpteen issues since the high popular density and this can be answered by establishing jobs and migrating employees to suburb regions. Despite the negative impacts of doing this such as weakening the profitability of companies I personally believe more advantages are there such as eliminating car traffic and solving the housing problem.