The government should control the Internet to reduce cyber crime and ensure safety of users. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Cybersecurity is a challenging issue in the modern world. While I partly agree that to prevent internet violations ministry should take action to control the online platforms to ensure users’ safety online. However, it is also a responsibility of an individual to be careful about online fraud. Firstly, the higher authority of any nation ought to adjust the national framework. This means countries must focus on updating and developing national internet regulation strategies. For example, In Australia, the government develop cybersecurity laws to prevent, investigate, and take action against cybercrime. Secondly, awareness campaigns should organise for the public to know what kind of threats they may have faced online and how to be cautious about them. Moreover, improving cyber forensics facilities by governments can ensure user safety to prevent cyber misconduct and speed up the investigation. Whereas the public also must consider their role in saving themselves from such crimes. For example, individuals should think twice before clicking links or attachments, protect personal passwords, and verify requests for private information. They must update their knowledge and get information about online safety by getting assistance from authorised governmental sites for free. These cooperative measures can be taken by governments and citizens to overcome the issue of virtual crimes. To summarize, I somewhat agree governments must take action against cyber breaches by adjusting the country frameworks to regulate the internet boundaries about updating and developing online security methods, as well as cybersecurity laws and forensics facilities need to improve to speed up the investigation. Individuals also share this responsibility by having awareness of how to be careful and safe from online cyber-attacks.