Under British and Australian laws, a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant’s past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

The purpose of jury is to pass an impartcial judgement no matter who the culprit maybe. There is a debate suggesting the previous crimanal records of accused should be acessable in the court while trial, unlike the current practice in the United Kingdom and Australia. I disagree with this idea as I feel it will not do much good. To begin with, some think that a person is defined by his past, hence the avaliablity of the previously commited crime is likely to creat a perception and is highly to impact the judgement hence increasing the chances of wrong verdict. For instance, a person who already has a criminal record even of minor one will automatically creat an image of a law-breaker in the minds of everyone in the court. A judge is less likly to give him the same sentence as compared to the one who never has broken any law. I think that, the purpose of justice is to have equal rules for everyone irrespective of the image, People learn from mistakes and strive to improve theirselves, it has often been witnessed that after having a setback humans try to be better person and change for good. This will be hindered and generate a disbelieve amongst the previous previouslly convicted giving a statement that a person can never change. This will discourage crimanals to become good human beings thus making them more prone to commit commiting crimes. To conclude, availiblity of crimanal cases with jury is not appropriate as this will reduce the chances of justice and will come in the of former crimanals to lead a better life and be better person.