With the recent developments online, people can leave their views or opinions about certain goods or services they have purchased. Is it a good or a bad thing?

The use of social media platforms by businesses has opened up a platform for consumers to communicate about their experiences. The introduction of Facebook, Twitter, and WhatsApp; just to mention a few, into business has aided in this.It enables them to write reviews about the goods and services they will have acquired. In this essay, I will look at the benefits that come with this even though it is abused at times. Being able to speak about one's purchase is a much-appreciated service; more so when you are able to do so directly to the company without having to visit their premises. This is the first and major advantage. Secondly, it allows for anonymity for those who want to leave their comments and remain unknown. At times it results in honest and helpful information for the organisations as well as for future customers. I for one usually go through the comments left by others before making my decision. In most cases, the information left by others is pretty accurate and useful. On the other hand, the internet has become a major source of unsolicited cyberbullying, with many using it as a way to say unnecessary negative things. Competitors can also use these to discredit their rivals by putting false reviews hence there is a need for careful consideration on whether to use the platform or not. An example of this is Mambo Chicken, which has a reputation for using the social internet arena to discredit other food outlets like Nandos, Chicken inn and Chicken hut. After listing the pros, which outweigh the negatives, the ability to express one's pleasure or displeasure is crucial and therefore I believe social platforms are for the greater good.