Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by verysmall numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

With the agreeable order of the day, it cannot be denied that the era of globalisation has affected our every day lives. The changes on communication field including the rising use of social media are happening on every corner of the world. Social media enable us to connect to other people eventhough they are located far away from us, this made us prone to cultural and languages exposure around the world. When more languages are spoken internationally, we often find traditional languages in our country on the brink of extinction because they are not spoken by the younger generations on the daily. I have to agree that the governments should spend public money on saving these traditional languages. Languages are not only a way to communicate but also a historical evidence on how our ancestors built the civilization. Nowadays, languages are getting simpler compared to complex symbols used in the past to speak and write. The downside of globalisation is the arise of possibility where the younger generations in the future might not know the languages spoken by their ancestors. This might be caused by the lack of education or lessons taught in schools regarding traditional languages. Aside from that, with fewer native speakers of traditional languages it also means that these days it is harder to find teachers who are competent to teach these languages at school. With that being said, I think the government should pay more attention to the traditional language classes taught in schools and make language courses that is accessible to the public. This way public will be more aware of the importance of traditional languages and the channels available to preserve them. However, with little preparation and lack of strategic planning on methods to preserve traditional languages could cause a negative impact on the overall budget of language preservation. Some people might think that preserving traditional languages is a waste of money because instead of that, why not the government pay more attention to renovating public places and making public transportation more accessible for the public. The preservation of traditional languages if not done correctly with careful steps, will have less benefits for the public as the budget could go into waste. When language courses and classes in schools are not organized properly, people will not be aware of the importance of the existance of traditional languages in the middle of modernity. In conclusion, I personally think that the preservation of traditional languages spoken by our ancestors should be done by the government with proper budgeting and strategic planning. This must be done to avoid spending public money in careless ways and instead to raise people's awareness of the importance of keeping the existance of our traditional cultures and languages.