What is the reasons , effects and solutions of water pollution ?

Water pollution is a serious problem in big cities, impacting the livelihood and the well-being of the urban population. In general, water pollution can be divided into two based on the area of impact, which are surface water pollution and groundwater pollution. These two kinds of pollution are related, as surface water can seep through the soil pores and vice versa. Back then, water pollutants are mostly in the forms of heavy metals and organic substances from agricultural and industrial activities. However, recently microplastics become alarming pollutants due to the higher use of plastic containers and substances in daily life. COVID-19 has also caused higher plastics amount in the waterways and coastal areas. To begin with, there are various reasons why water contamination occurs. Firstly, weak law enforcement from local and national governments regarding waste management influences people and factories to dispose their waste directly into the river and ocean. Secondly, public education on how to manage their waste is still lacking, especially their domestic waste. It is unfortunate, because some water contaminants have a biomagnification effect, meaning that the concentration of dangerous substances could be multiplied through the flow of the food chain and food web. Therefore, the effects of pollutants in water bodies in recent years become alarming, observed the higher occurrence of algal blooms and concerning health problems from water consumption and usage. The evidence can be found in countries and areas with low to no proper waste management. Managing water pollution needs a great investment and motivation, but the impact of doing so will be beneficial for the overall public health. In conclusion, water pollution could be eliminated by implementing strict pollution reduction laws, providing proper equipment for waste disposal and giving adequate public education on how to manage their wastage. Moreover, it would be rewarding when the people have the will to reduce their waste, starting from their home, as it will give a positive impact on their environment.