In the future, robots will do more and more jobs instead of humans. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages

Robotics technology has been progressively improving throughout the years. These breakthroughs may lead to the transfer of the majority of the day-to-day jobs performed by humankind to robots. This essay aims to discuss that these advances has more advantages than disadvantages. The upsides of having advanced machinery doing the work are enhanced efficiency and less cost. Since humans tend to deliver slowly and are prone to mistakes, these machines have the ability to work faster with higher accuracy. In terms of financial reduction, there is a fewer operating costs by automating the workflows. For instance, Amazon, they have automated its warehousing and delivery services which is achieving improved productivity and a lower budget. Another benefit of this is that an individual or a company may focus on productive tasks rather than administrative ones. By having robots do the cleaning of the houses, serving in the hotel and restaurants or acting as reception in the airports, other resources can be designated for other tasks such as strategising and planning. Though these are beneficial, one can argue the negative consequences of them. Mainly the drawbacks of this is the lost of jobs and malfunctions. Since companies may use these robots in the future instead of man, then they will be unemployed and may struggle to find new ones. However, this can be resolved by equipping them with new digitalisation skills to adopt on this change. On other hand, if there’s malfunction on these equipment, then there will be loss of production. This can be avoided by having back up or redundancy to ensure it will cover the full demand. In conclusion, I believe that these advantages outweigh the disadvantages due to the far greater results that robots can deliver. Through these advances, inefficiencies in the processes are eliminated leading improved economy. One can argue that there are risks of unemployment & faulty machines, nevertheless these can be mitigated.