In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read ebooks rather than paper books? What is the main cause of this trend? What effect does it have?

Over the last few years, electronic reading has manifested itself to be more popular than using paper-based books. In the following essay, the rationale behind this popularity among individuals, and the possible impacts of this tendency will be further scrutinized. To begin with, one of the major rationales for this recent tendency is that e- books are economically convenient. To illustrate this, when researchers have a quest for addressing a certain issue or topic, they will conveniently google the topic and search for it rather that the need to borrow books from libraries, not to mention that electronic books are much faster that traditional searching manoeuvres. An eminent example of this is BookBub, which is a website launched in 2009, that allows readers to have a plethora of books and volumes in their personal blog; additionally, it is free for subscription. Thus, what can be said from this example is that not only is this cutting-edge technology in reading available, but it is also affordable. Furthermore, I am of the belief that this tendency has a positive impact on the long-run. This is because, if people can access pieces of information that they seek easily, the percentage of illiteracy will decline. Not to mention that readers will be motivated to broaden their horizons as expensive books are now reachable. For instance, a recent study commissioned by a group of sociologists concluded that, recently, people have been up-dated and informed of all recent events and circumstances thanks to the availability of information everywhere. Hence, I believe that e- books advantages immensely outweigh the merits of coventional books. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the above-mentioned points, it can be assumed that while a proportion of people prefer the soothing effect of traditional books, an escalating popularity of individuals are tending to utilize e- books since they are affordable, convenient and available. I can reiterate that the influence of this trend is beneficial in terms of spreading of information.