Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign langauge is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reason why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Learning a foreign language has become an essential part of education for many reasons which may include travelling or seeking a job overseas. Some would argue that these are the main reasons for learning a foreign language whereas others believe that are other reasons that are equally important. I personally believe that learning a foreign language has other numerous reasons and benefits that I will explain throughout and present the other view as well. First, many people believe that learning a foreign language is just required for travelling or finding a job abroad. This opinion sounds valid as it will be difficult to communicate in a foreign country without learning its language. There are many countries in which its citizens just speak its mother tongue. For example, in Japan, China, and Germany, foreigners are obliged to speak the languages of these countries otherwise, there will barriers of communication. Moreover, in order to find a job abroad nowadays, people need to master at least one foreign language or more. For instance, many English educators are required to take the IELTS test to be able to obtain a job abroad. In the USA, the more languages one acquire, the more money they will get. Employers prefer employees to speak more than one langauge, especially in many fields, such as tourism and hospitality. Although these may sound as sufficient reasons to acquire a foreign language, there can be other important reasons as well. It is worth mentioning that learning a language is interlinked to learning about its culture. When a person learns about a foreign culture, this will lead them to have different perspectives in life. It will enable them to read foreign fiction and foreign newspapers. Consequently, they become open minded people and this will help them to become well-rounded characters. Furthermore, learning a foreign language could help people to communicate with others from all over the globe and they will make international friendships. They can even marry someone from a different culture. Thus, they can lead a life full of excitement which is different from others. In summary, people can have different purposes for learning a foreign language. I believe that all of these reasons are equally important and it can bring many benefits to its learners.