A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks? Write not less than 250 words.

There has been an increasing reliance on the tourist industry as a principal source of revenue in many parts of the globe. However, sightseeing can be a potential source of a crisis. There are many merits to this as well as some demerits, which will be expounded upon in this discourse together with my opinion. The two main advantages of developed tourism industry are boost in country’s economy and a large number of new job openings for the local people. Firstly, tourists spend money on a wide range of services, including hotels, amusements, transportation, food and medical services. This way, tourism yields an additional income, greatly supporting the country's economies. Secondly, tourism increases the level of employment by bringing new jobs. For instance, the influx of tourists results in a larger demand in restaurant workers, tour guides, hotel staff and employees of retail services, exhorting business owners to hire more people for these positions. However, tourism also has some major disadvantages like destruction of popular tourist destinations and development of illegal economic activities. Ancient buildings, temples and monuments struggle to cope with a vast amount of visitor’s traffic and get damaged. Also, the large number of tourists can cause environmental problems. For instance, when places of interest are overcrowded, natural resources often become overexploited. Furthermore, tourism can create more serious situations where criminal issues are involved. The presence of a considerable number of tourists with a lot of money to spend, and often carrying valuables such as cameras and jewelry, increases the attraction for criminals and brings with it activities like robbery and drug dealing. However, proper hospitality management and correct usage of tourism revenue by the local government can easily eliminate these disadvantages, making the benefits more pronounced and enjoyable. To conclude, although tourism has certain disadvantages like destructive effects and growth of crime rate, it has an extremely positive impact on a country’s economy and provides a large number of new jobs for the local people. Therefore, I believe that these benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks.