Some people think it's better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it's good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

On the topic of friendship, while some people believe that friends should always share the same view on things, certain other persons think there should be a conflict of notions at times amongst them. I am of the opinion that true friendship is built on openness and sincerity, hence, it is a more healthy relationship when the individuals in it have opposing thoughts sometimes than always in agreement. This fosters regard and teaches accommodation of other person's ideas. First and foremost, for the school of thought that thinks friends should always have a degree of unity in beliefs, do so because it enhances compatibility. For instance, an armed robber will naturally want to keep association with a person involved in the same crime so they agree on the same ideas. Perception about things is born out of one's value system, thus, one will most likely want to be in a relationship with another who shares the same values as himself. Consequently, it solidifies the strength of the friendship. On the other hand, those others who disagree but believe that two or more individuals in a friendship should have opposing ideas sometimes, do so from their belief that human beings are distinct and form theories based on their experiences and environment. For example, in a study, it has been established that the longest-standing friendships are those that allow people to state their notions. Furthermore, a relationship of any nature should ensure that those involved in it are comfortable stating their views on topics as doing so will cause them to learn to accommodate diverse conclusions, and have a broader outlook on life but particularly ensures openness and truth. In my opinion, I agree with the group of persons that asserts that it is healthy for friends to disagree sometimes as it fosters respect and ensures truth and openness. In conclusion, regardless of how the dice are rolled, people will always remain in a relationship of any nature for different reasons ranging from a shared value system which eradicates the opposition of views to accommodating opposing thoughts that foster openness and respect, of which I am in agreement with.