Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge. However, despite this, most schools still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, most jobs require skills or knowledge that is more specialised to cater to their job requirement. However, school subjects such as history or social sciences are believed to be not useful in getting a good job. In this essay, I will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of learning humanities subjects in school. There are several advantages to learning non-popular academic subjects. Firstly, subjects like history, social sciences or geography may help students diversify their fundamental knowledge of the world, which helps them to understand human behaviour and social judgements. These can equip students with life skills such as communication. On top of that, learning these subjects can help students be well-rounded individuals and guide them to be well-adjusted as they have more exposure to other knowledge rather than only learning specific subjects such as the sciences. For example, history can teach a lot about cultural identity which can inculcate love for the country and its heritage. However, there are at least two disadvantages of learning academic subjects. Firstly, these subjects may not be related to students ’ chosen career paths, as universities usually emphasize specific subjects as a pre-requisite. For instance, when applying for medicine, students must have good grades in science subjects such as chemistry or biology. Furthermore, students would not enjoy learning subjects they are not interested in, which would only make them memorise facts instead of teaching them core skills. In conclusion, learning academic subjects has both advantages and disadvantages. However, I think the benefits outweigh the drawbacks of learning these subjects in school due to mastering other skills for more holistic education.