some people say Histroy is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a controversial discussion about what subjects are the most important to learn. Some believe that it should be history but some oppose it saying that subjects like science and technology are the most important. According to my point of view, I believe that both areas are equally important and therefore in this essay i will firstly discuss the importance of history and secondly science and technology with relevant examples. First and foremost, everything we do now, and the decisions we make is linked to our history. Thus learning history gives students a clear idea about their cultural background and how our ancestors survived and evolved with time. For instance, we learned how our ancestors fought with Dutch, British and Portuguese for our independence and learning such details makes us really proud of our nation and it also teaches us techniques and tactics that can be used if there is any invasion. The students can also learn about fearless heroes who sacrificed themselves to win the battle. Thus, such stories make us motivated to face such challenges fearlessly. Secondly, learning history is the best way to understand our cultural background. It is said that Sri Lanka is a part of India and the civilization started with Prince Vijaya and his seven hundred followers. On the other hand, Science and technology are considered the most important subject in the school curriculum because studying such subjects create a pool of opportunities for the future. Even nowadays technology and emerging technology had taken over the world as they make people's lives convenient. For instance, smart devices such as smartphones and tablets had made the world a small place as people can communicate with one another despite the location and also can order food without leaving the comfort of their homes. Thus, learning about those subjects will give them the opportunity to find a job easily. Additionally, those who work in those fields earn more than those who work in regular p[rofessions. For example, based on a New York Times survey people who work in technology and science fields earn more than regular professions. In conclusion, it is true that history is a crucial subject to learn about the past but I also believe that learning about science and technology is equally important as we are moving into the technical era.