Some parents want their children to read only serious educational books at all times.They don't wantbtheir children tobread any entertainment books because they think it is a waste of time.Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?why?

There are parents who believe that children should spend time in educational books and they feel that reading entertainment books are waste of time. I strongly disagree with this arguement that wide range of reading is more helpful for the integrated development of children. Purpose of reading books is to develop knowledge as well as to feel mentally relaxed. First of all, even though children gain additional knowledge about varieties of topics through educational books,limiting their reading to this particular area may result in mentally fatigue and even aversion towards reading. When they incorporate other books like story books, novel, comics and poems, which will help them to relax. Second reason is that through stories and other entertaining books, it is easy to plant different values and concepts in children. For example, to train a child in the virtue of charity instead of giving a book which describe about what is charity if we give a book which illusyrates beautifully a story of a boy who practice charity will be more beneficial. To conclude reading is a habit which should develop from childhood. When reading become enjoyable and beneficial children may easily tune to the habit of reading.