Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities.

Nowadays, the alarming rate of jams in metropolises has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this issue can exert detrimental effects such as economic depression and diseases, some feasible solutions can be implemented to address it. There are a plethora of problems arising from congestion. In this essay, I will mention two typical issues. Firstly, there is a long tailback on the road during rush hour, which is the primary reason for coming late to work. This status not only hurts the individuals’ benefits but also reduces the productivity work of the business, which will cause an economic downturn. Secondly, due to heavy traffic, drivers have to experience a high volume of pollution emissions. This might be explained by the solid fact vehicles release higher levels of carbon dioxide, resulting in many diseases such as respiratory and cardiovascular diseases. Nevertheless, this situation can be remedied, provided that some feasible steps are taken. First, in order to improve the traffic flow, a bilateral control system is advisable to be introduced, which will successfully assist the drivers in maintaining equal spaces with radars. Second, if self-driving cars are encouraged, it will mitigate the car accidents caused by drivers. As a result, the volume of traffic in the metropolitan will reduce. For instance, according to a recent survey, 40% of car accidents can be to blame drivers ’ poor driving decisions. Thus, removing careless drivers and promoting artificially intelligent vehicles are the essential elements contributing to traffic reduction. In conclusion, increasing jams in urban areas is a pressing issue that everyone has been facing. Despite the car sequencing problem and the disease caused by congestion, some promising solutions involving bilateral control systems, and self-driving cars have been suggested to diminish the terrible traffic.