Every year several languages die out. Some people think that it is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Although thousands of languages and dialects are spoken across the globe nowadays, hundreds of them are teetering on the edge of extinction. While some people believe that we should preserve all different languages, others hypothesise that our daily lives would be easier if fewer languages were used. Supporters of reducing the languages across the globe point out some economic advantages. With the rise of globalisation and neoliberalism, there is a constant need to connect people and trade goods. For example, we need to communicate effectively to buy and sell from a business partner. Therefore, if we used fewer languages, we would decrease communication barriers, and consequentially, more international trade and opportunities for economic growth may substantially occur. Although the above arguments are valid, I do not believe they outweigh the numerous disadvantages of letting idioms fade away. First, not only are idioms strongly related to the history and culture of nations, but they also bring the feeling of belonging to a place or a community. Moreover, the translation of languages does not correspond perfectly, i.e., several words cannot be translated. For instance, in some dialects, there is no word for “goodbye” or “I am sorry”, so, by letting tongues die, we jeopardise how natives express themselves accurately. In conclusion, at a first glance reducing the number of idioms across the globe might be economically interesting. Conversely, in a detailed analysis, we realize that letting them disappear could be highly problematic. Therefore, on no account should we let economic motivations be the main reason to reduce the number of idioms.