The tradition of families getting together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

It seems that people are spending less time with each other in reality and the tradition of having meals together has disappeared. In my opinion, there are several reasons why this is the case and this phenomenon may result in certain undesirable outcomes. To begin with, there are various factors which result in the decline of family members having lunch together. Firstly, the rapid development of technology may shift teenagers' attention from communicating with their parents to playing video games online. For example, children may prefer to play video games in their rooms instead of having lunch with their parents. Apart from that, the increasing cost of living may be another reason. Since adults may need to work overtime to support their families, there may not be enough free time for family members to gather together. According to this, multiple negative impacts may be caused. As it is widely believed that dinnertime is perfect for people to communicate with others, children, who are facing certain difficulties, may lose the opportunity to ask for advice from adults if the family does not have meals together. This may be easier for youngsters to have mental issues such as depression once they do not have the access to express their feelings. Moreover, family relationships may be impeded owing to the lack of interaction between relatives. In conclusion, the modern technology and heavy workload may be the major reasons why people are having fewer meals with their families, while the problem may pose a threat to mental health as well as impede the family relationship.