As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

In this contemporary era, a growing number of people are buying cars. One can say that there is a myriad of benefits of using a personal vehicle although it may have some drawbacks for the ecology. I believe the advantages for car owners outweigh the disadvantages for the environment. This essay comprises both these views; followed by a logical conclusion. Firstly, the foremost advantage of buying a personal car is that secures privacy. To elucidate, when people are traveling and commuting by public transport such as buses and trains, it is highly unlikely to have privacy. For example, recent research conducted by the Sri Lanka police department reveals that 20% of sexual harassments are reported inside public transport, especially on trains. Thus, it is better to have a private ride in order to secure privacy. Secondly, it is easy to commute by automobile. To elucidate, people have to follow the public transport timetables and may waste a considerable time by waiting for buses and trains. As a consequence of these employees find hard to reach the office premises on time which may lessen the working efficiency and finally this caused low productivity. Hence, these can be eliminated by using a personal vehicle. On the contrary, one negative impact on the environment is air pollution. This is due to the fact that burning more and more fossil fuels can cause contamination of toxic gases around the globe, and this is a crucial reason for global warming as well. For example, one vital fact behind the air pollution in New Delhi is the over usage of vehicles. Since using automobiles may arise some environmental issues. To conclude, despite some drawbacks for nature such as air pollution, there are more positive impacts on individuals such as privacy and easiness of using private vehicles.