Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

High-demand goods are bought more by the public nowadays due to companies' marketing strategies rather than being purchased by the community as a true necessity. In my point of view, I partially agree with this statement. On the one hand, various ways of promoting stuff online have become quite trendy these days. We can see products being posted on social media sites. Sellers choose to market their merchandise online as it provides a vast platform to catch a consumer's attention, creating more opportunities. Aside from that, merchants use click baits and advertisement banners and particularly use testimonials from people who previously purchased a certain item from them. Altogether, all of these just show how much the potential for marketing has greatly improved sales of popular products. On the other hand, most popular merchandise nowadays is necessary for the everyday needs of the people. Most people purchase consumer goods not based on luxury, they do not take heed if a particular product is not a necessity, no matter how they are advertised. For instance, as a consumer, I mostly shop online and I have seen how merchants promote their merchandise and they target consumers based on their needs. In-demand goods today are mostly eco-friendly and sustainable, which in all honesty is what our society really needs. In conclusion, even though I agree that marketing strategies help in captivating consumers toward buying products, I think that it does not necessarily reflect why the public spends money as opposed to spending for their needs.