In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, the development of mass transit has never failed to draw public attention. Many hold a view that governments should spend budgets on the construction of cutting-edge transport while the counterargument is that the augmentation of current public vehicles is more important. Personally, I believe governments should make decisions based on specific circumstances. On the one hand, it is crucial to recognise that high-speed rail provides commuters with a fast and more convenient method of travelling. Nowadays, there is a great number of people who have to travel a vast distance between different urban areas to go to their workplaces, which is gruelling and time-consuming. Hence, the advent of metro systems would be a remedy due to their phenomenal speed. Furthermore, trains can carry thousands of passengers simultaneously thanks to their impressive capacity, which leads to a reduction in the number of private vehicles and alleviates traffic congestion as well as the emission of greenhouse gases. An example of this justification is the UK Underground, which has been globally renowned for its merits. On the other hand, objectors may argue that the expenditure on subways should have been spent on other social aspects and suggest authorities concentrate on improving the quality of current mass transit systems instead. This argument is somewhat true since the budget required for the construction of state-of-the-art methods of travelling would be extremely high and that may be at the expense of the money which should have been used to tackle other social issues. Therefore, traditional public vehicles will be invested in because of their affordability. For instance, the Cambodian government has long been focusing on the quality of their intercity coaches and national routes in place of erecting railway lines due to limited financial capacity. Taking all the mentioned facts into account, it is clear that novel travelling methods will be more suited for developed countries, whereas developing countries should be content with the current means of transport. In my opinion, the decision as to which method should be prioritised requires further consideration.