Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Recently, a lot of individuals decided to be self-employed instead of working in an organization or an establishment. This essay will explain the reasons people want to be their own boss and it will further discuss the drawback of being self-employed. In our society, a lot of humans want to establish their businesses as a result of the bad treatments workers are subjected to. Apart from the principles and rules some organisations have that constrain the creativity in their staff, they also do not have plans for women of child bearing age to go for maternity leave, having a side room to cater for their baby while at work during breaks, also lack of work flexibility and reduction in working hours. An example was a research carried out by Paul Adeyinka on the challenges of exclusive breastfeeding among working-class mothers in Nigeria, it was found that 70% of the women do not practice breastfeeding for up to 6 months due to their job. However various effects having your company may have and one of them is inability to resign. As a result of having an organization you can not resign when circumstances, difficulties and downward flow of profit sets in, though everyone may resign but the owner remains to resolve the problem and get the company running again. An example is the CEO of a table water factory, who has a downtime in business and this caused all his staff to resign and he was left to oversee the company alone till it rises again. In conclusion, this essay was able to discuss the reasons an individual wants to be self-employed and also the demerits of being self-employed.