Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers.Some people think that it would be better for the envionment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, where everything can move around the world due to globalization, food is not an exception. It can be travelled a long distance from manufacturers to end-users. Few individuals opine that if individuals consume the local eatables, grown by farmers then it would be better for the atmosphere and economy. I disagree with the notion. Although there are some issues associated with this phenomenon, they can be resolved. To begin with, there are multiple benefits behind the commuting of food items to different areas. The primary one is, that these days people have several choices to taste imported fruits and vegetables. To be more precise, they read about the importance of these items for their health on social media and get impressed with the nutrition. Second, it opens a gateway of foreign exchange for the country and provides a platform for companies and businessmen. This can also be good for small farmers who do not get proper demand in their local areas. For instance, Mangoes grown in India are exported to the U.S.A. and sellers get an advantage since local production is too high to compete. Thus, this transportation helps the residents to have different country's commodities and increase the profit of producers On the flip side, certain communities are not in favour of this owing to numerous causes. Firstly, this travelling burns fuel in aeroplanes and ships which is harmful to the atmosphere. The whole world is struggling to curb air and water pollution; However, many studies are being done to control this pollution such as using bio-fuel in flights. Secondly, exporters exploit the local market and create a difficult scenario for native players. They cannot compete with multi-national ventures. To exemplify, a lot of apple producers in Kashmir are having difficulty to tackle with American exported Apples. As a result, their sales are being hampered; conversely, exporting helps the buyers to have good quality products as well as pushes local producers to improve their food to sell. To conclude, this contemporary era belongs to fast-moving. Travel of food has become a crucial part of it because of the demand in the international market.In my view,while there are a few problems attached to it but new technology can assist to get rid of them.