The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

In this contemporary era, the booming of the tourism industry is promoting the English language globally. There is an opinion by a few individuals that this will create a situation where only English will be used worldwide. Creating a single language for the world population has its o.wn merits and demerits which will be discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs. On the one hand, there are many positive sides to making one language for all mankind. The primary is, that there will be no confusion among people from different nations. To be more precise as they don't require to learn other languages to communicate. Secondary, this will help the environment since several books on international subjects are published in native languages that will not be needed. If everybody knows the English language they can read International books. Furthermore, multinational companies can do business efficiently and provide more jobs to youth. For instance, these companies will not require any interpreter in board meetings, as well as applicants, will not be rejected because of the language barrier. As a result, this will convert the whole globe into one big family. On the other hand, certain communities are opposed to this. They find a plethora of disadvantages in this phenomenon. Firstly, this one language concept will ruin the culture of other languages. Secondly, many historical books are written in different languages which are treasures for humankind. People will forget the importance of that incredible heritage. Thirdly, a non- English speaker will feel his language is inferior to English. This will not only resist him from not speaking his mother tongue as well impact his psychology since he will give more importance to English tradition. To exemplify, as per an article published in ' The Hindu' most Metropolitan cities of India like Delhi and Mumbai residents are incapable to speak numbers in the Hindi language. To conclude, these days travellers have access to move to any part of the world due to advancements in technology. This emphasizes of the English language is spoken at the world level. Although it has a plethora of advantages, there are drawbacks associated with this that can not be ignored.