Many people keep dogs and cats as companions. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of pet ownership for the animals involved and for the community as a whole.

Pets are human's best friend. Not only they give a company to lonely person but also protect their property. However keeping a pet have both advantages and disadvantages. To commence with, research has proven that the company of a dog or a cat keeps psychological problems such as depression away. These animals keep a person busy and give love and affection that increase overall happiness. These animals also help fight with anxiety, inactivity and encourage exercise and playfulness. In many case, people who did not own a pet reported better blood pressure and lower cholesterol Once they owned a pet. Moreover, dogs are extremely possessive for their owners as well as their belongings. They gaurd the house against any external threat or interference. Thus, keeping pets is very helpful for households with children or old people. However, pet ownership is not an easy job. Animals are often the source of many diseases such as asthma. The saliva and fur of a dog or a cat can lead to many infectious disease as well. Dogs or cat bite those who are not vaccinated can also lead to life threatening disease such as rabies. Additionally, dogs are sometimes a source of disturbance during the night. Many people have reported dog howling and barking at night as a svere form of stress. To conclude, despite several drawbacks of keeping a pet, animals such as dogs are extremely beneficial in dealing with stress and loneliness of a modern lifestyle. They are not only good friends but also are excellent protector from any positive threat.