There have been major advances in technology over recent decades and this had lead to significant improvements in people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The lives of many folks have changed greatly due to some major development in automation in the past few decades. I personally agree with this view and I will explain why in this essay. To begin, there are some minor demerits associated with the use of technology. Firstly, it leads to an increase in the rate of cybercrime. This is now becoming the most committed crime among young adults because of the advancement in machinery, those involved in this crime can do this by hacking the bank accounts of victims and duping them with huge sums of money, they can also hack one's social media account and disguise to be the owner of the account and use it to get money from the original owner's contact thus, making individuals responsible for the crime they didn't commit and making them go through the stress of opening another media account. Secondly, a lot of people have become lazy in performing their work this is because they now depend solely on machines to do the work they ought to do. For instance, one of my cousins kept on piling up her clothes just because the washing machine in the house got spoilt and she couldn't wash with her hands because according to her she is used to washing with the machine. However, despite the above minor drawbacks associated with automation, I believed that it has brought a lot of positive changes in our lives. Technology has over the years played a massive role in bringing and connecting individuals together by means of bridging the gap in the different means of communication. People all over the world can communicate with each other over long distances through the help of telecommunication, messages can be sent through emails and instant reply has gotten. Social media apps like Facebook and WhatsApp has made it easier to chat with family and friends over far distance, thereby strengthening their bond. Moreover, the advancement in technology has made life easy. Individuals can carry out multiple tasks at home with the usage of electronic gadgets. For example, if one wants to cook, they can easily utilize an electric stove and at the same time use an electric blender to blend the ingredients to cook, this saves time and also reduces the stress of doing it manually thereby making life convenient. To conclude, despite the minor demerits that come with the adoption of machinery, I strongly believe that it has brought a lot of improvement in the lives of people in the area of communication and in carrying out housework. Continuous improvement should be made in various aspects that are known to be hazardous to humans so as to make it more suitable for our day-to-day activities.