Due to advances in science, it is now possible for people to live to 100 years old or even longer. While some people think it is a good thing, others do not agree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There has been a controversy about whether prolonged life expectancy is advantageous to our society. I think this situation is a double-edged sword, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First and foremost. It can make our life more meaningful. As we know, our first 18 years and last 10 years are either for school or hospital; therefore, the time that we can spend for ourselves is limited. For example, some people always want to travel around and see different cultures; however, due to their limited time, this is hard to achieve. Take my father as an example. He constantly wants to visit Japan; nevertheless, on account of his heavy workload, this wish seems impossible to achieve. At this point, should our life is expanded, there are more chances to realize our goals. Second, it can propel human technological development. As mentioned in the last paragraph, we don't have much time for ourselves; the same situation with the scientists. According to some statistical figures, a scientific project usually requires years; however, some scientists' bodies don't allow them to live this long. In this case, it's commonplace that they pass away in the middle of the research, and a more vital fact is that the results of most scientific research are unteachable; in other words, their students need to find out the outcome by themselves. As a consequence, such a phenomenon can bring about a vicious circle and hinder the improvement of human civilization to a large extent. If those scientists' lives can be prolonged, then this situation can be prevented. On the other hand, an increase in life expectancy can render some negative results. For instance, due to the increase in life expectancy, we are facing an ageing population. The number of elderly people is rising; hence, the government needs to pay them more pensions annually. As a result, this situation can adversely affect the country's finance. It's worth mentioning that an ageing population is causing an unemployment crisis for young people as well. Those elderly are taking away young people's opportunities. In conclusion, the advantages of an increased life expectancy outstrip its disadvantages.