Some believe hosting major international sporting events will bring benefits to the country. Others believe it might bring disadvantages. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Some think that hosting important global sporting event will bring advantages to a nation. Few people argued that this might have demerits. This essay will discuss the merits and drawbacks sporting activities may cause and I am of the opinion that it is of great benefit to a country. Organization of global sporting programmes exposes a nation to a lot foreigners which enhances the economy of a territory. Most of this events is an avenue for a nation to accommodate a lot of individuals from all over the world, and the influx of this people promotes the economic status of the country because most of them will want to grace the occasion, they will book flights, stay in hotel throughout the period of the programme, transport to tourist attractions, restaurants and to the event, as well as usage of other infrastructures in order to participate in the programme. An example of this is the Olympics game held in Brazil, several companies and businesses benefit from this and the country at large. However, sporting activities predisposes a country to crime, as a result of security agents focusing on ensuring a safe and peaceful event. While people are planning for the programme others are planning how to commit crimes such as hotel robbery, luggage and car hijacking and other criminal acts. A typical example was an important global activity that occurred in Ghana and several crimes were reported. In conclusion, this essay was able to explain the profits in hosting Sporting programmes and also dangers of organizing such event in a country. I agree with the believes that it brings great benefit to the economy of a nation.