In many large cities, people waste hours of their time every day because of traffic congestion on the road. What are the causes of this, what solution can you suggest.

Nowadays, most big towns have a lot of cars running on the road, this causes traffic gem which at times lead to different problems such as accidents and theft. This essay seeks to discuss the causes of traffic congestion in many large cities and the solutions to this problem. To begin with, some truck drivers are careless and ignorant. They may see the driving instructions but still ignore them. Another issue is that, many developing countries have poor road signs which most of the time affect the speed of traffic during peak hours. To illustrate, in Zimbabwe, a lot of traffic lights are out of service, which causes confusion for both the drivers and pedestrians. That is why sometimes scouts try to control the congestion which helps half of the time. Also, some of the signs are hidden by trees and are unreadable and faint. Last year, about 34 per cent of the road accidents were due to poor road signs. To alleviate the problems mentioned above, governments must develop strategies and very strict penalties to deal with uncautious vehicle drivers. Moreover, poor road signs should be maintained and surrounding trees must be cut so to preserve people's lives. For example, trees near the roads can be trimmed every quarter and billboard signs can be maintained every six months. To conclude, traffic gem is due to bad signals on the road and careless drivers. To deal with such issues, those in power should introduce tough laws against uncautious drivers. Also, road signals must be fixed and bushes around trimmed to keep them clear. These and other issues have been discussed above.