Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

In the last decades, there has been a surge in the number of cars in cities which has led to a rise in both traffic congestion and air and noise pollution. Some people believe that the obvious measure to work out these problems is to increase the price of petrol. Personally, I feel that there are other solutions which would be far more effective. The increased price of petrol would not decrease the number of cars in cities as, at the present, the majority of citizens are forced to use their cars to go to work. Many people live in suburban areas of cities and they have to commute to work. However, there are no extensive public transport networks on the outskirts of cities. This means that even if the cost of fuel rose, workers would continue travelling by car. A good example is the fact that in the last century the price of gas has climbed and the number of cars has not declined but jumped. One of the main solutions to tackle traffic congestion and pollution in cities is to change work habits. Working from home is one of the changes to make. Nowadays, many employees are able to work in the comfort of their homes without going to offices thanks to technology like computers. This would allow many workers not to use their cars to go to work, decreasing traffic on roads and pollution in cities. More importantly, governments should improve public transportation networks. If there were more public transport such as buses and trains and more extended bicycle lanes in the suburban areas, several citizens would be encouraged to travel by bikes, buses and trains both to go to work and to town centres because they would save on petrol. In conclusion, despite the fact that the most obvious measure would be increasing the price of fuel, I’m convinced that in order to reduce traffic and pollution problems in cities, people have to change their way to work and governments have to extend public transport networks.