Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some professors suggest that learning a foreign language in primary schools is better for children rather than secondary school.In this essay, it is clear that the advantages outweigh the drawbacks.The benefits are that not only children are likely to master the language if they learn earlier but also it can help them to improve the brain function. The disadvantage is confusion with their native tongue which is not entirely proved. The main reason to kick off learning earlier is that it increases the likelihood they will achieve fluency in adulthood. This is because, as a child, it is in developing stage that the brain can absorb the language. As a result, it will seem perfectly normal to speak bilingually. One clear example is that my niece, who is attending the international school, is more comfortable to speak English than me. Furthermore, learning a second language also helps to improve overall cognitive abilities. In other words, it benefits the overall development of a child’s brain. It is unclear that the child becomes confused between their mother tongue and the other language.It might be a case if the children are forced to learn languages especially.Namely,one of a child in my neighborhood from bilingual family was easily speaking both Chinese and Myanmar. To sum up,the benefits from early learning foreign language such as higher fluency and development of brain function are more impactful than that so-called disadvantage that it impairs uptake of native languages.