It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is paramount for youngsters to learn what is right and what is wrong at an early age. To achieve this, punishment is mandatory to help them learn this distinction. I agree with this statement because adults having wrong manners can harm society and therefore raising responsible children will reduce these kinds of people in our surroundings. First and foremost, we should encourage children to be able to differentiate between good and bad manners since that will make them walk the right path and become good people in the future. Moreover, children ought to learn the consequences of their bad behaviours so they would stay away from doing those mistakes again. For example, when I was young, I bad-mouthed my friends because I envy their friendship. When my parents found out, they explained to me about the side effects of bad-mouthing and cheered me up with some words that I could also get a good friendship if I become a better person. In addition, they asked me to apologize to my friends. Since then, I don't do that kind of action again and learnt that I can also get my own friends just the way I am. That is important to make children understand what they are doing and what kind of responsibility they have to take after that behaviour. Punishments do not always need to be serious. Just like I mentioned before, the most important point is to make them take responsibility. Mild punishments should be taken. For instance, taking away pocket money for a week or depriving their favourite dolls for days can also help the kids realize their fault. Some parents use curse words and beat the child instead of implementing the role of responsibility. This kind of penalisation will only make the children worse. The parents and teachers need to know in what kind of way they should teach their children. In conclusion, although reasonable punishments can make a child grow into a better, responsible person, serious penalties will trigger their rebellious spirit. With the help of technical and balance punishments, I believe we can make every flower blooms beautifully.