People now have the freedom to work and live anywhere in the world due to the development of communication technology and transportation. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Several countries declare that punishing children through physical means is illegal, but in many countries, this practice remains. Thus, some parents believe that punishing children through physical means is the best way to nurture them as they ensure that children are aware of the consequences of their morally incorrect actions. However, in my opinion, I strongly disagree with this contention as there are numerous reasons against this form of punishing children, strongly supported by psychological and scientific studies. Firstly, punishing children through physical means can lead to children developing long-term psychological consequences. Specifically, children develop a sense of fear when being reprimanded in this way because they are constantly paranoid about making wrong decisions as they feel traumatic after being punished physically. As a result, children will develop low-esteem and a lack of social skills resulting in the deterioration of their mental health. Thus, this popular form of punishment fails to acknowledge that risk-tasking is a necessary form of child learning. Therefore, physical punishment will not provide children with the social skills and confidence required to integrate into society and live independently. Secondly, punishing children through physical means results in children developing aggressive tendencies. Specifically, children punished physically regularly causes children to build up anger that is released abruptly in a violent manner. Through the development of potentially dangerous traits, children raised this way will believe that violence is the most rational approach will dealing with people they dislike. Thus, children raised in this way could struggle to assimilate into society because their ingrained traits will be considered a threat to society. In essence, parents should not punish their children physically because it results in children developing poor social skills and low self-esteem and will cause them to develop violent behaviour traits, resulting in difficulty in integrating into society.