Children have more and more tests and exams to do at school starting from the age of five or six, right up until the age of 18. What are the advantages and disadvantages of making children do exams?

At schools, assigments and exams are compulsory for the students since their primary school to high schools. There might be both good and bad things due to the impacts of tests. First of all, the aim of the test includes the assessment of the understanding and knowledge of the respective subjects of the children by checking their answers, in which the teachers can access the strength and weakness of not only their teaching methods but also the children's interest and correct weakness to get better outcomes of the children. As an example, if the child get very low marks in one subject, the respective instructor can try better ways of teaching to improve the results in next ones. In addition, the teachers can even know the hidden talents of the children through their answer sheets and they can get a chance to nurture them by giving the appropriate trainings. On the other hand, there still are some negative effects on the students as they have to sit for the exam through their life until teenaged. While preparing for the tests, most of them suffer from exam stress which is really bad for both mental and physical health, that may even lead to some kinds of health problems such as insomnia which means loss of sleep especially for teenagers as they are in the stage of puberty and their hormones are changing extremely at that time. Moreover, students get pressures from their families through out the school life due to the tests as there are competitions between parents according to the results. That may lead them to feel anxious, jealous and cause some social and communication problems with their friends. In addition, due to the marking systems in the examinations, there are limitations and constrictions in children's idea and opinions which can cause the restrictions of one personality of open-minded. To conclude, although there are pros and cons according to exams and tests, in my opinion, negative impacts outweigh positive ones. The stressful conditions faced by the students are higher and that may even lead to some personality changes in community.