The issue of gay marriage remains controversial. Some people think that this trend has adverse effects on the society while others believe that it is seen as a natural trend and right for people to choose this type of marriage. Should gay marriage be legal?

Nowadays, some individuals consider that homosexual marriage could have a negative impact among society while others see it like a normal trend. My own belief is that everyone should have a personal choice especially when talking about love and marriage, and gay marriage should be legalized. In the following paragraphs I will explain my point of view and I will give examples. Firstly, current society is based upon different rules. The most important rule in democratic countries is the humans rights which also implies gay people. Furthermore, homosexual people need to have same acces to education, jobs, health and marriage. For instance, there are countries, like Netherlands who accepted homosexual mariagge and even their right to adopt and raise children. Thus, accepting this trend has not led to negative impact on society for the past years, and Netherlands remained a high developt country in Europe. Moreover, accepting gay marriage is a form of accepting LGBTQ people in current society and not seeing them like outcasts. While it may be correct that in the last decades media had an important role in presenting their life and struggles and keeping a negative balance gay people especially regarding health issues in the 70s, it still appears to be the case, however, that homosexual marriage could not affect in any way our society. Their love, rights and private life is not on current society concern. To sum up, my own belief is that in a democratic country, human rights prevail and gay marriage should be legal because it does not have short or long term negative effects upon current society.