Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that in today ‘s world subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In the modern world, the importance of science and technology has become increasingly important. Although information technology and science subjects are popular among many students, some feel that history should be the most important school subject. In this essay, I will be discussing why learning certain subjects would benefit the students as well as for the world to move forward. On the one hand, It is important for all the students to have a certain level of knowledge about world history as well as their country. History helps us to learn the values, behaviours and cultural habits which have been coming from generation to generation. This eventually helps us on how we should behave in different societies. Secondly, the past helps us to know how ancient people used different methods in order to get the best out of the natural resources, for example looking at the drawings in Sigiriya rock, shows that in the 15th century people managed to create more than 20 different colours by using natural resources. Finally, the geographical advantages, for example how ancient people used the lands in order to generate an income and the locations they used to do business transactions. On the other hand, Science and information technology help us to move along with the rapidly changing environment. It provides us with new discoveries, for example on how to fight against new viral diseases, how to increase productivity to meet the rising demands, how to defend systems against hackers and how to use technology to reduce environmental pollution. Moreover, without the basic knowledge of such subjects, students could not be able to contribute to society in a significant way. To conclude, the essay discussed, how science and technology help us to find new findings and to fight against potential threats we could face in the future whereas history gives limited information on how to overcome such issues. In my opinion, even though history does help students to gain knowledge about how humans behaved and what they did, studying science and technology helps students keep a step forward in this challenging environment.